Maintenance. We are currently updating the site. Please check back shortly
Members login
  • TrustLaw
  • Members Portal
Subscribe

Plane skids off runway at New York's JFK airport, no injuries -FAA

Source: Reuters - Sun, 5 Jan 2014 03:33 PM
Author: Reuters
cli-wea
Tweet Recommend Google + LinkedIn Bookmark Email Print
Leave us a comment

NEW YORK, Jan 5 (Reuters) - A plane taxiing after landing skidded off a runway at John F. Kennedy International Airport and slid into snow on Sunday, federal officials said. No injuries were reported.

The Bombardier CRJ jet, coming from Toronto, landed at 8 a.m. EST (1300 GMT) and was turning off the runway onto a taxiway when it slid in slippery conditions, said Federal Aviation Administration spokeswoman Kathleen Bergen.

An official at the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey, the agency that runs the airport, said 35 passengers were aboard the Delta Connection flight.

New York City was hit on Friday by the first severe winter storm of 2014 and was still in the grip of sub-freezing weather on Sunday morning, when the incident occurred. Freezing rain is forecast for later in the day.

The airport was closed for about two hours, the FAA said. Flight operations resumed sometime after 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT). The FAA said it was investigating the incident.

The aircraft was flown by Endeavor Air.

We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of the Thomson Reuters Foundation. For more information see our Acceptable Use Policy.

comments powered by Disqus
TOPICAL CONTENT
Topical content
LATEST SLIDESHOW

Latest slideshow

See allSee all
FEATURED JOBS
Featured jobs