Thomson Reuters Foundation

Inform - Connect - Empower

FACTBOX-Fifteen women have won Nobel Peace Prize

Source: Thomson Reuters Foundation - Fri, 7 Oct 2011 11:52 GMT
Tweet Recommend Google + LinkedIn Email Print
Leave us a comment

Oct 7 (Reuters) - Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakul Karman won the Nobel Peace Prize on Friday. Only 15 women have won the peace award. There are 43 women laureates in total for all the Nobel prizes.

Marie Curie was honoured twice with the 1903 Nobel Prize in Physics and the 1911 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. 

Following is a list of the female peace laureates since the prize was set up in 1901. 

1905 - Bertha Sophie Felicita von Suttner, Austrian baroness who wrote an anti-war book, "Lay down your Arms", and was honorary president of the Permanent International Peace Bureau. 

 1931 - Jane Addams, U.S. philanthropist who organised social work among the poor in Chicago and was international President of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. 

1946 - Emily Greene Balch, U.S. pacifist and honorary international President of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom 

1976 - Betty Williams and Mairead Corrigan, co-leaders of the "Community of Peace People", a movement to end sectarian violence in Northern Ireland. 

1979 - Mother Teresa of Calcutta 

1982 - Sweden's minister for disarmament Alva Myrdal 

1991 - Detained Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi 

1992 - Guatemalan human rights leader Rigoberta Menchu 

1997 - Jody Williams, coordinator of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines 

2003 - Iranian human rights lawyer Shirin Ebadi 

2004 - Kenyan environmentalist Wangari Maathai 

2011 - Liberian President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Liberian human rights activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni women's rights and democracy activist Tawakul Karman. 

Sources: Reuters/ 

(Reporting by David Cutler, London Editorial Reference Unit and Oslo newsroom) 

We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of the Thomson Reuters Foundation. For more information see our Acceptable Use Policy.

comments powered by Disqus