Thomson Reuters Foundation

Inform - Connect - Empower

US exempts Japan, 10 EU nations from Iran sanctions

Source: Thomson Reuters Foundation - Tue, 20 Mar 2012 18:06 GMT
Author: Reuters
Tweet Recommend Google + LinkedIn Email Print
Leave us a comment

(Adds details)

WASHINGTON, March 20 (Reuters) - The United States plans to exempt Japan and 10 European Union nations from new U.S. financial sanctions because they have significantly reduced purchases of Iranian crude oil, four sources familiar with the matter said on Tuesday.

The European Union countries include Belgium, Britain, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, and Spain, a senior U.S. State Department official told reporters.

Under the 2012 National Defense Authorization Act, U.S. President Barack Obama has the ability to impose financial sanctions on foreign banks that carry out financial transactions with Iran's central bank "for the purchase of petroleum or petroleum products from Iran" if several conditions are met.

However, the law gives the president an explicit exemption under which he can choose not to apply sanctions if he determines that the country with primary jurisdiction over the bank has "significantly reduced" its volume of crude oil purchases. (Reporting by Arshad Mohammed; Editing by Anthony Boadle and Jackie Frank)

We welcome comments that advance the story through relevant opinion, anecdotes, links and data. If you see a comment that you believe is irrelevant or inappropriate, you can flag it to our editors by using the report abuse links. Views expressed in the comments do not represent those of the Thomson Reuters Foundation. For more information see our Acceptable Use Policy.

comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular

Latest slideshow

See allSee all
Featured jobs