2016 Schork Awards Finalists Announced

by Thomson Reuters Foundation
Thursday, 21 July 2016 10:47 GMT
Finalists for the 2016 Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism have been announced and include journalists from Nigeria, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Pakistan, India, and Egypt.

The 15th annual Kurt Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism, which recognize the work of reporters who seek to illuminate the human condition through courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other key issues, will be hosted in the Thomson Reuters Auditorium in Canary Wharf this coming October 27th.

Among the shortlisted finalists in the Freelance and Local Reporter categories recognised by the awards are four Nigerian journalists, as well as journalists from Malawi, Zimbabwe, Pakistan, India, and Egypt. 

37 freelancers and 56 local reporters from 36 countries - 93 entrants in total - applied to the awards. The full list of finalists announced can be viewed below:

Freelance category

 James Harkin (Ireland)

Antony Lowenstein (Australia)

Jeong May (Canada))

Sara Williams (UK/Canada)

Sophie McBain (UK)

Eric Reidy (USA)

Iona Craig (Ireland)

Philip Obaji (Nigeria)


Local Reporter category

 Fisayo Soyombo (Nigeria)

Aylaa Abo Shahba (Egypt)

Chitrangada Choudhury (India)

Montanrayo Joel (Nigeria)

Olatunji Ololade (Nigeria)

Ray Mwareya (Zimbabwe)

Umer Ali (Pakistan)

Brian Ligomeka (Malawi)

Judging the award are freelance journalist and author Anna Husarska, Co-Founder of Eyewitness Media Hub, Sam Dubberley, Reuters Middle East Editor, Samia Nakhoul and Richard Sambrook, Professor of Journalism, Cardiff University.

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism was established in 2002, the $US 5,000 awards honour American freelance journalist Kurt Schork, who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone.